Some Things in Life Are Hard

Some things in life are hard.

They’re supposed to be…

hard.

Parenting and friendship.

Neither have ever been a walk in the park or a 1970’s sitcom thank you very much.

Sometimes they need, need, need everything you are capable of,

and more.

You need each other.

You starve, shrivel, dry up without them. You suffocate with them.

You swear they’ll suck the very life right out of you.

They send you to hell and back.

Yet, they lift you up.

The struggle is the gift.

Some things in life are worthwhile.

They’re supposed to be.

8 thoughts on “Some Things in Life Are Hard

  1. I can completely relate to this. Helping my daughter to speak (before we had a diagnosis) was threatening to eat me alive. I couldn’t believe how hard it was. Once we had a diagnosis and I learned how to be of help to her at home, I started to thrive. Yes, it was still hard. Yes, I wish sometimes it could be easier. But it is also a gift.

    A little over a year and a half ago I started a support group for families whose children also have CAS. Someone recently asked me if I was going to stop leading it since my daughter has made progress. I looked at them like they were nuts. If it was just for myself, how could I ever help other parents know that there would be a light at the end of the tunnel. So, I keep leading it. I don’t need it as much for myself anymore, but when I need someone to understand a tough day on the homefront, then my gosh, I’m so thankful for those other parents!

    Like

Leave a Reply

