Line Friends

I meet the nicest people when I’m standing in line. Today I did a bit of line standing. I waited in line at the bookstore vendor at the Michigan Reading Council. I had just attended the General Assembly and heard Peter Brown’s keynote. I grabbed one of his picture books, “My Teacher is a Monster”. It’s a great story and I love his illustrations. I also picked up “Gaston” by Kelly DiPucchio because Donalyn Miller recommended it. So, I was standing in line and eavesdropping on two women behind me who were buying “The Day the Crayons Quit”. One of the women was reading it aloud to her friend. They were laughing. It really is such a cute book. I couldn’t help myself. I turned and said, “I am really enjoying your read aloud. I bought that book yesterday.”  Just then, the woman in the next line over said, “Would you like to get in front of me? You’ve been here longer.” Wow! What an act of kindness. I thanked her. Then, we laughed about the fact that our line was suddenly getting behind the one I had just left. “It’s just like the grocery store.” I said. She laughed and said, “Ya, I always pick the wrong line.” We became line friends. Then she asked what I was buying. “Oh” I said with enthusiasm.”I’m buying this one by Peter Brown and I’m going to have him sign it and then I bought this one, I said showing her the cover of the picture book “Gaston” and I’m going to have Kelly DiPucchio sign it. She’s going to be signing next. “That’s me.”  she said. What?? The author I worship is standing in line and chatting with me? I guess authors are real people too. I do put them way up high on a pedestal. Kelly DiPucchio may be regular folk, but, wow. She does amazing work! And now we are line friends!

4 thoughts on “Line Friends

    • Morgan, I am sure some people think I’m nuts when I struck up conversations in line. I even eavesdrop and dip into nearby conversations. But, I just can’t help feeling like we’re all in it together and we might as well get friendly. Thanks for stopping by to read and comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

