In the Moment with Two Seven Year Olds

20160312_135121.jpg

The day for my donated “teacher experience” had arrived. I was taking my students, Harvey and Tristan, to see a movie. It was “teacher experience” donation to the annual school auction. I purchased tickets to see Zootopia. In 3D of course!

As it happens I have been struggling with some teen parenting issues at home. As children grow older the parenting issues seem to become more complex. As I pulled into Harvey’s driveway I saw him come bounding out the front door and across the lawn. His mom followed him with two booster seats. She seemed almost apologetic. “Thank you so much for doing this.” I hugged her, “You have no idea how thrilled I am to spend the afternoon with two seven year olds!” I said.

We had such a marvelous time. While the experience reminded me of when my own two boys were little there was also something different about it. Today I felt very relaxed. Very in the moment. I think that when my boys were little I would’ve been a little bit stressed about things. Have I discovered what grandparents experience? My one concern today was to make sure the boys had a good time. As I looked in the rearview mirror, Disney Radio on the XM,  I saw the two boosters in the back, two little fresh-faced boys with 3D glasses still on their faces clutching half eaten bags of popcorn and a bucket of half eaten cotton candy, I know I achieved my goal.

2 thoughts on “In the Moment with Two Seven Year Olds

  1. I love this slice. You were exactly what these two little guys needed today – and their moms! I loved the picture in my mind as you were looking back at them in your car with their 3-D glasses still on. What a beautiful sight that must have been! And, this “Donated teacher experience” sounds really cool – !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

