Three Truths and a Lie

Today I found myself reading a lot of slices looking for inspiration. Lauren Lynfield’s “Three Truths and a Lie” caught my attention. This is an ice-breaker game that can tell you things that a person wouldn’t bring up in casual conversation. Here are my Three Truths and a Lie. Can you guess which is the lie?

1.  I run ultra marathons which are 50 milers.

2. I took Russian in college because I wanted to work for the NSA.

3. I cooked for workers in the orchards of a large Kibbutz in Israel.

4. I am color blind and so are my two sons.

This is a writing exercise that I can imagine doing with students. I now have now generated three new personal narrative ideas.

5 thoughts on “Three Truths and a Lie

  1. Oh gosh, I can’t even begin to guess which one is the lie. Let’s go with #2. Am I right or totally off base? (It sounds like it could be true!)

    BTW: I used to do this with my students on the first day of school. I told them it was the only time they’d be permitted to lie in my classroom all year.

    Like

  2. Your three truths and a lie made me very curious!! And, I have to say, no matter which one was a lie, it sounds like you have had amazing experiences in your life!

    Like

Leave a comment