A Cruel Tradition

Me: “Hey, Dan, it’s 7:19!”

Dan: “No, remember the time change?”

Me: “Then my phone didn’t change.”

Dan, stumbling out of bed and shuffling into the kitchen: “I’ll go check. Hey, Maxson. Get up. It’s 7:22. You wanted leave at 7:25.”

Me: “Can you turn off the light?”

Not my favorite way to wake up on a Sunday morning. Just when Dan was commenting last night how nice it is to be grilling outside at 7:00 p.m. in the light. Why do we put ourselves through this torture each spring? What are we saving? Not our sanity. Not our health. Not our health nor our lives. Studies show that in the days following our leap ahead there is an increased risk for auto accidents, heart attacks, stroke, and weight gain. (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/daylight-saving-time-health_us_56314767e4b0c66bae5ae7f3)

Daylight Savings Time is someone’s idea of a cruel joke. That someone was Benjamin Franklin. He suggested it as a way to save money on candles. Well, I’ve got news for you. I haven’t spend much on candles lately. Can we please let this cruel annual tradition go the way of the kerosene lantern?

 

8 thoughts on “A Cruel Tradition

  1. Yes, I would be all for getting rid of Daylight Savings! It’s funny because on one of the AP English exams from a few years ago, one of the prompts was about whether or not we should get rid of Daylight Savings! I know how I would have answered that prompt! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment